The Benue State Governor, Chief Samuel Ortom has joined the league of incumbent governors who have lost their ambition to be in the National Assembly at the expiration of their present tenure in office.  

Reports monitored by Maritime Bits showed that Ortom lost his ambition to the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Titus Zam.

Others who had also lost their bid include the Cross River State governor, Professor Ben Ayade and his Enugu State counterpart, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi.

While Ayade lost to the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Ugwuanyi was defeated by the Labour Party (LP) flag bearer.

Zam was a Special Adviser on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs to Ortom until 2018 when the governor defected to People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Zam, a strong disciple of the former governor of the state and Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, George Akume, polled 143,151 votes to defeat Ortom who scored 106,882 while the Labour Party (LP) candidate, Mike Gbillah scored 51,950 votes.

Announcing the results at the senatorial district headquarters at North Bank, Makurdi, the returning officer, Professor Rufus Shato declared the APC candidate winner of the race to the upper chamber of the National Assembly.

In the same vein, Senator Abba Moro of PDP has won his re-election into the Senate.

Moro polled 76,459 votes to defeat his closest rival of the APC, Mr. Daniel Onjeh who scored 59,959 while the LP candidate, Joe Ojobo scored 40,194 votes.

The electoral officer of Benue South senatorial district, Professor Robert Tee declared Moro winner of the election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here