R-L: Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lagos State Council, Mr. Adeleye Ajayi, administering the oath of office to the newly re-elected President, Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN), Mr. Anya Njoku; Vice President, Mr. David Oladimeji; and the Secretary General, Mr. Obiajulu Agu shortly after their election at the MARAN International Press Centre, Atlantic House, Apapa, Lagos...recently

The President of the umbrella body of journalists covering the maritime sector of the economy, the Maritime Reporters’ Association of Nigeria (MARAN), Mr. Anya Njoku has been given a nod for another term of office.

With his re-election, Njoku is expected to serve as the President of the association for another three years.

His re-election was sequel to the successful election of a new set of executives for the association. Njoku who publishes Newscheck magazine trounced his closest rival, Mr. Godfrey Bivbere of Vanguard newspaper with 25 votes. Bivbere scored only 17 votes.

The election which took place at MARAN International Press Centre, situated at the imposing multi-story Atlantic House , Apapa, Lagos was adjudged free and fair by observers including the leadership of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lagos State Council led by its Chairman, Mr. Adeleye Ajayi.

With his election for a second term of office, Njoku has made history as he joined the league of those who have led MARAN for more than one term of office.

The election which was organized by a three-man electoral committee which has Rev. John Iwori, the Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Maritime Bits as Chairman also led to the emergence of Mr. David Oladimeji as the Vice President. He defeated his opponent, Mr.Augustine Nwadinanmuo.

For the position of Secretary General, Mr. Obiajulu Agu defeated the incumbent, Mr. Dapo Olawomi while the remaining contestants were returned unopposed. These include the Assistant Secretary General, Mr. Kenneth Jukpor; Public Relations Officer (PRO), Mr. Olayinka Onigbinde; Financial Secretary, Mrs. Chiazor Ogbolu; and Treasurer, Mrs. Joy Enamuna.

Shortly before the swearing of the new executives, Ajayi who is also a member of the association lauded members of MARAN for their peaceful conduct before, during and after the polls.

He noted that the MARAM election unlike the ones for many other associations across the country was devoid of any rancour and acrimony as no ugly incident was recorded during and after the polls.

The NUJ Lagos Council Chairman who administered the oath of office to the newly elected executives charged them to live up to the expectation of those who voted into office.

According to Ajayi, the newly elected executives must not leave any stone unturned in the discharge of their statutory roles and responsibilities.

Already, those who lost have conceded defeat as they have congratulated the winners, just as they pointed out that there was “no winner, no vanquished” in the election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here