Members of the newly elected executives of MARAN taking their oath of office shortly after their election at MARAN International Press Centre, Atlantic House, Apapa, Lagos...recently

A new set of executives to pilot the affairs of the umbrella body of journalists covering the Nigeria’s maritime industry, the Maritime Reporters’ Association of Nigeria (MARAN) for the next three years has emerged.

At an the election which took place at its International Press Centre (IMC), Apapa, Lagos recently, Mr. Godfrey Bivbere of Vanguard Newspapers was elected as its President while Mr. Adegboyega Oni who was hitherto the Chairman, Caretaker Committee of the association was elected as its Vice President.

Apart from Bivbere and Oni, Babajide Okeowo was elected Secretary General; Abah Collins, Financial Secretary; Joy Mmereole Okoli, Treasurer; Pearl Ngwama, Assistant Secretary; and Sandra Chukwunyere, Public Relations Officer (PRO).

They were all elected unopposed and a oath of office was administered on them by the Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lagos State Chapter, Mr. Adeleye Ajayi.

In his victory speech, Bivbere assured members that the work of the new executives starts immediately just as he promised to work with every MARAN member to restore the association to its rightful place.

His words: “The work starts now. I am going to work with every MARAN member to return MARAN to its rightful place. This executive is going to work assiduously for the benefit of every MARAN member.”

In his charge to the executives, enjoined them to carry every member along in order to achieve the desired results for the association. 

Ajayi who was a former President of MARAN urged Bivbere and team to operate an open-door policy and listen to the advice of every member in order to have a successful tenure that will be devoid of rancor and acrimony.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here