The Minister of Transportation, Engr. Muazu Jaji Sambo has confirmed that he would personally attend the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN) 34th Anniversary and Awards with the theme “16 Years of Port Concession: The Pains and the Gains” slated for December 9, 2022.

Besides Sambo, other stakeholders in the maritime industry have also expressed their desire to be fully involved in the one-day event.

The erstwhile Director General, Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety (NIMASA), Dr. Ade Dosunmu is billed to be the Chairman of the occasion which will take place at the prestigious Providence Hotel, GRA, Ikeja, Lagos.

A gala night expected to be grace by stakeholders in the maritime industry and beyond is scheduled for 4pm prompt on the same day.

These were contained in a press statement signed by the Chairman Planning Committee of MARAN At 34 Anniversary, Mr. Dapo Olawuni and made available to Maritime Bits.

“I would not want to miss the event because the maritime sector is my first love and MARAN is my immediate constituency”, Olawuni quoted Sambo saying.

According to him, Sambo will be bestowed with the prestigious Diamond Award at the epoch making event. The 34th anniversary and Awards 2022 of MARAN is expected to be attended by over 250 maritime industry professionals; cutting across the maritime agencies, terminal operators, security agencies, international and domestic companies operating in Nigeria.

Expected to also bag awards at the MARAN night of honor includes the Chairman of Sifax Group, Dr. Taiwo Afolabi; Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Dr. Bashir Jamoh; Chairman of Genesis Worldwide Shipping, Captain Emmanuel Iheanacho; and the Chairperson, Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN), Princess Victoria Haastrup.

Others are the presidential flag bearer of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso; Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Colonel Hammed Ali (retired); Chairman of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) Brigadier General Buba Marwa (retired); Founder of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF), Dr. Boniface Aniebonam; former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), Prince Olayiwola Shittu as well as the Chairman, Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN), Mr. Tsanni Abubakar.

The  Customs Area Controller (CAC), Apapa Customs Command, Comptroller Yusuf Malanta; Chairman of Wealthy Honey Nigeria Limited, Dr. Kayode Farinto; the Iyalaje Kano and Chairman of Bomarah Group, Hajia Bola Muse; President General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN), Comrade Adewale Adeyanju; frontline Ship owner, Alhaji Aminu Umar; Customs Area Controller, Onne Customs Command, Comptroller Auwal Mohammed; National Cordinator of 100% Compliance Team of NAGAFF, Alhaji Tanko Ibrahim; and the former Executive Director Finance and Administration of NPA, Mr. Olumide Oduntan are also billed to get award at the occasion.

Companies and government agencies that are billed to clinch awards include the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA). APM Terminals Apapa, Tolaram Group, Settle Systems Nigeria Limited, Grimaldi Shipping Nigeria Limited among others.

The lead paper for the event would be delivered by the immediate past Executive Secretary, Nigerian Shippers Council (NSC), Barrister Hassan Bello while the Managing Director of NPA, Mr. Mohammed Bello-Koko, Mrs. Jean Chiazor Anishere, SAN, Managing Director of Trucks Transit Park Limited (PTT), Jama Onwubuariri and Registrar of NAGAFF Academy, Mr. Francis Omotosho would discuss the paper.

According to the statement, the occasion would provide ample opportunity for notable maritime experts and professionals to speak on critical issues affecting the port since 2006. The planning committee noted that the MARAN Awards come once in a decade and the last edition was held in December 2013.

Maritime Bits had reported that MARAN is the foremost maritime media association which was formed in November 1988 and has since then remained the umbrella body of all journalists posted to cover the activities of the nation’s shipping and allied businesses.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here