The Bayelsa State Governor, Senator Douye Diri has taken a cue from President Bola Ahmed Tinubu as he has created a Ministry of Blue Economy in the oil and gas rich state.

It is on record that Tinubu had shortly after his swearing into office on May 29, 2023 created the Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy with the appointment of Alhaji Adegboyega Oyetola as the pioneer Honourable Minister.

Apparently toeing Tinubu’s line, Diri on Friday while swearing additional 15 commissioners into the state executive council (SEC), announced the creation of a Ministry of Blue Economy in the state.

The governor also created a Ministry of Special Duties (General Services) which is in charge of non-indigene affairs in the wholly Ijaw state.

The swearing in of the additional new members of the SEC is coming on the heels of the 14 commissioners that had been sworn in on April 29, 2024.

The swearing of the commissioners brings the total number of members of Diri;s cabinet to 29.

These were contained in a statement issued by the Chief Press Secretary to Governor, Mr. Daniel Alabrah.

Giving reasons for the creation of the Blue Economy Ministry, Diri said:  “The wealth of the state lies in the Atlantic Ocean. Beyond oil and gas, Bayelsa is rich in its maritime environment and more emphasis will be placed on the development of its blue economy. That is why we have taken it upon ourselves to construct the three senatorial roads from Yenagoa-Ukubie, Nembe-Brass and Sagbama-Ekeremor-Agge which all lead to the Atlantic Ocean on the three flanks of the state.”

The Bayelsa State number one citizen explained that the Blue Economy Ministry was created so the state could key into the federal government’s development of the country’s blue economy.

He also re-assigned the Commissioner for Special Duties (East), Preye Brodrick, to the Ministry of Transport while Mr. Mandy Akpalo was assigned the Ministry of Special Duties (Central).

In the same vein, Hon Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai who was earlier assigned the Labour, Employment and Productivity portfolio, is now the Commissioner for Information, Strategy and Orientation while Chief Saturday Omiloli is to oversee the Labour Ministry.

Hon. Alfred Belemote was assigned the Ministry of Community Development, Chief Thompson Amule retained his portfolio as Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, while Mr. Alla John is to man the Ministry of Tourism Development.

Professor Seiyefa Brisibe takes charge of the Ministry of Health, Hon. Ebi Ben-Ololo (Environment), Hon. Alalibo West (Special Duties – East),  Hon. Gibson Munalayefa (Communications, Science and Technology) Godspower Keku (Culture) and Chief Godspower Oporomo (Ijaw National Affairs).

Professor Beke Sese was assigned the Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Alfred Nimizigha (Youth Development), Dr. Faith Zibs (Blue Economy) and Mazi Onuma Johnson (Special Duties General Services).

Diri also charged the Commissioners for Environment, Agriculture and Health to come up with ideas and strategies for tackling key priority areas of the Prosperity Administration, which include food security, health and environmental issues.

He stressed the need to check illegal logging, oil bunkering activities and indiscriminate waste disposal in the state.

His words: “We must enhance food production through mass agriculture and develop new initiatives for cultivating crops that we have comparative advantage such as cassava, plantain and rice. Therefore the Commissioner for Agriculture has an uphill task. Bayelsa will no longer be importing rice but rather we should be exporting it.”

Describing health as a critical sector, he challenged the relevant ministry to upgrade the health delivery system to world-class standards and continually improve the functionality of the Bayelsa Health lnsurance Scheme (BHIS).

He also noted that the decision to upgrade the non-indigene office from that of Special Adviser to a full-fledged ministry was in fulfillment of his campaign promise as well as the need to promote national integration.

While urging the cabinet members to ensure fruitful collaboration, steadfastness and uncompromising integrity as hallmarks of their service, he cautioned them that “failure is not an option and anyone found wanting will be promptly replaced.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here